Thread Rating:
  • 6 Votes - 3.67 Average
Brit New Guy (TOGWT)
19-11-2008, 12:11 PM
Brit New Guy (TOGWT)
By way of introduction
Born in London, England in 1944, I studied at London University (Bartlett College) and received a BSc Architectural Engineering, then studied at the London School of Economics and obtained an MBA in Business Management, after graduation I joined the RAF and attended Royal Air Force College at Cranwell, Officer Cadet training graduating as a Flight Lieutenant. I then gained a position in the Oil & Gas, Hydrocarbon Exploration sector working for British Petroleum, a few years later was granted a Shell & BP scholarship, and studied at Imperial College, London graduating with a Bachelor of Science degree (BSc) Chemical Engineering

I began detailing Mercedes-Benz / BMW helping out at my Father’s dealership as well as his Jag collection back in the late 50's, he enters them into Concours d’élégance events (detailing to another level) and as such I’m used to a large number of high-end new and used cars. The one thing I learned (and still have that last 98% to learn, mind you) way back then still holds true today “ It’s the surface preparation that makes the difference, not the product”.

I detailed my first car when I was fourteen (a mere five decades ago) it was a 1929 Bentley that belong to my Fathers friend Brigadier John Dix of Kensington, London. If, as they say, "God is in the details," then a 1929 Bentley is truly a religious experience. I knew then that detailing would become a passion and my méetier.

It has always been a relaxing past time for me and while at college I had a part-time business detailing classic vintage cars. From there to Concours d’élégance entrant then judge, and then on to writing car care articles and How-to: instructions, then writing a series of books on my favourite subject.