Thread Rating:
  • 5 Votes - 2.6 Average
Total Novice needs advice
01-09-2008, 06:33 PM
Total Novice needs advice
I must admit, that this is really the first time I have actually put some thought into this idea of car washing. It has pretty much been something for the garden technician to do after mowing my lawn.

The idea came after seeing an insert on the guy that does the 5000 Pound car wash in the UK. 9 month waiting list. yeeeeeehaw.

At present I have no experience, except for sheild car wash and diamond guard. At least i have a nice microfibre washing sponge. I am terrified of mechanical polishing or buffing or whatever, just in case it ends up costing me a fortune to fix. Maybe later when I am more confident.

My question is this: What products would you recommend for someone starting detailing, interior and exterior. Right from start ie buckets, right to the end in whatever, bearing in mind that it will be done by hand for a while.

My aim is to first attack friends and family to practice my skills on, and then later take over the world (so to say)

I have surfed for some ideas here, and there are some real pearls of info like the microfibre thread. I have even Googled for it and that made my head ache with all the info out there. I want it plain'ish and solid. Please

Oh, and another thing. When doing the chip repairs, how can i tell if my car has a clear coat on it. I drive a 2007, 3dr Polo Tdi, in a really Smarty Blue.

Thanks in advanceWavey
Find all posts by this user
Quote this message in a reply
01-09-2008, 06:51 PM
RE: Total Novice needs advice
Ok also of questions in here, all tackle one and leave the rest to the board. Your car is clear coated, all modern conventional cars are. If you polish the car and your polishing medium turns the colour of your car, then your car has no clear coat.
01-09-2008, 07:13 PM
Hi Big Guy (that sounded whoreish :roflBluebiggrin

Welcome to the forum Clap